In early 1987, Leigh Higgins, (previously Secretary of Midlands Bowls Club at Campbell Town, Tasmania) and Frank Ayers, (Secretary of Adventure Bay Indoor Bowls Club) saw the need for a Lawn Bowls Club and called a public meeting to discuss the issues involved and devise a plan to make it a reality.

A committee was formed and the Club started later that year with Leigh Higgins as President and Frank Ayers as Secretary/Treasurer.

Based in the Adventure Bay Hall the Club applied for a lease of the land where the present club and green now stand. Fundraising functions supported by a 12 hours per week liquor licence, (later extended to 15 hours) and the hard working efforts of a host of volunteers saw the construction of the bowls green during 1989 and 1990 under the supervision of Kevin Glenn. The green was officially opened in September 1990 in time for the club’s entry into the STBA competition for the 1990/91 season. In its first season, the club finished 3rd in Division 6 and was subsequently promoted to Division 5 for the following season.

The ladies entered a Pennant team in Division 8 and finished 3rd in their first season in 1991-92.

With rent increasing rapidly in the Adventure Bay Hall it was decided to proceed with the construction of our present clubrooms.

The building was constructed by volunteers for $60,000 with only some skilled trades-people requiring payment. Working bees under the direction of Don Hillier and Ken Harrison were complemented by Nicky Nibbs and Frank Ayers who carried out the electrical installations.

The clubrooms were officially opened by the Bruny Island Warden, John Dillon on 4th June 1992 and were paid off in only 4 years.


  In 1994 the club was granted a full liquor licence and the bar was operated by rosters of volunteers.

The mens pennant team continued with varying degrees of success with promotion to Division 4 at the end of 1991-2 season after winning STBA pennant. It won it again in 2003 going on to win the State Pennant in that division.

The club again won the STBA Division 4 pennant in 2008 but somehow ended up playing for the Division 5 state title that year which it won.

The ladies pennant team played with various degrees of success until it folded at the end of the 2001-2002 season when the number of players required for a team increased from 8 to 12. Bruny stopped competing in its own right and joining with other clubs such as City Bowls Club & Cygnet Bowls Club.

In 2006 the green was replaced by a synthetic surface for $150,000; $50,000 of which was provided by a State Government grant. Working bees to assist in the preparation of the site and paving the surrounds reduced the overall costs providing a facility that may be used all year round.



Notable contributions to the Club

Leigh Higgins: President 1987-92, 1995-2000;
(Life Member) Secretary 2004-09, 2010-11
Greenkeeper – 15 years (qualified in 2002)

Frank Ayers: Secretary 1987-91,1993-98; Match Manager 12 years.

C.W. (“Nicky”) Nibbs: Patron 1992-97, 2002-07; Voluntarily carried out electrical
(Life Member) installation work and organized numerous working bees during construction of clubrooms & when lawn green was replaced with new synthetic green.

Kevin Glenn: President 1992-95, Treasurer 1990-92, 1998-2001,
Greenkeeper 6 years.

Graeme Weeding: President 2000-03, 2004-09. Life Member 2011

John Newton: Treasurer 1992-97.

Janice Higgins: Treasurer 2001-07, Lady Treasurer 1992-99, 2003-07
(Life Member) Lady President 2003-10, 12 times Ladies singles champion
Including STBA ‘B’ Grade singles 1997-98.

John Eiszele: Bar Manager 18 years 1995 - 2013